Saturday, August 26, 2023

Archive Interview: Angel Orsini

(originally published 12/22/05)

Angel Orsini has worked for ECW (as Prodigette) and Women's Extreme Wrestling, and currently works for many indy promotions in the United States (as Riptide). She has also worked out at OVW.

Q: How long have you been involved in the business?

A: Since March 1996 when I went to Japan to compete in a Valetudo fight.

Q: Why did you enter the pro-wrestling industry?

A: While in Japan, I met Reggie Bennett who convinced me to watch some pro matches. I was amazed at the athleticism of the Japanese women and I promised her I would try it.

Q: Where did you receive your training to become a pro-wrestler?

A: I was trained in Royal Palm Beach, Florida by Liz Chase who was an original Moolah Girl with Leilani Kai, Judy Martin, and Princess Victoria. She had an extensive career in Japan and in the US, wrestled Wendy Richter regularly.

Joannie Lee Lauer helped finish my last 6 weeks of training. Luna Vachon broke me in my first 2 years. In my travels I have trained with Demon Hellstorm, The Warlord, Jason Knight, and Dusty Rhodes.

Q: You have experience in various fighting styles: boxing, no-holds-barred, MMA Fighting, Muay Thai kickboxing, TaeKwonDo (blackbelt), competitive submission, and semi-competitive wrestling. What influence, if any, does this have on your pro-wrestling style?

A: Most people would classify my style as strong-style. I wrestle that way because of my background.

Q: What do you like the most about being in the business?

A: I love travelling and experiencing life in different countries, being exposed to different cultures and people.

Q: One of the promotions that you have worked for is Women's Extreme Wrestling, which presents itself as an alternative form of pro-wrestling, and has a target audience of 21 and older. Do you prefer working for this style of promotion, or do you prefer working for family-oriented promotions?

A: WEW has always been good to me and the fans seem to like it. There doesn't seem to be too much Success for the feds that promote the family stuff. I'm a firm believer in giving the people what they want to see, and apparently that's what the people want.

Q: Which persona appeals to you the most: Face, Heel, or Tweener?

A: That part doesn't matter to me and I like doing different characters, it makes it more challenging for me. Therefore I don't get bored doing the same thing all the time.

Q: What is your gimmick?

A: Right now I am "Wrestling Enforcement Officer" Riptide or Prodigette, that depends on the promoters, what they prefer. I wear a police-type uniform and take on the persona of a female Bossman (well I try to) LOL :-) The fans really like it and I'm having fun with it.

As far as WEW goes, I was The FBI Angel Orsini, but I don't do that character anywhere else.

Q: Which do you feel has been your best match so far?

A: I just had a great match vs. The Supermodel Amy Love, it was action packed! It was for NWA-Spinebuster in McLenny, Florida.

Q: Which has been your favorite match so far?

A: I know I've wrestled so many excellent girls, and I love working with them but for my own personal performance I think this last one in Florida. Because I Feel like with every match you get better therefore I feel my most recent one was the best one.

Q: Whom would you like to wrestle, that you have not yet done so?

A: WWE's Victoria, I've heard so many great things about her.

Q: If ECW had given you creative control, what would you have done differently? Do you think that they would still be here today if you had been at the helm?

A: There's no way I could have done a better job than Paul and Dreamer, They're the best in the business! I wouldn't have done anything different.

Q: With your previous experience in WEW and ECW, and the working out that you have been doing at OVW, a WWE developmental contract may be in your near future. How do you think that you would be best utilized if WWE added you to their roster?

A: I guess if they cared, they could let me try to get over.

Q: What do you do in your spare time?

A: I spend my time in the gym training myself and others, and the rest of my time with my family and friends. If I'm not wrestling.

Q: What is your long-term goal in the business?

A: I would like to be on TV again where I can develop a character, manage/valet people, and wrestle. I want 5 more years at least in the business before I retire or restrict myself to just training others.

I hope you enjoyed this interview with Angel Orsini. In 2003, I began running my own website, World Wrestling Optimum, which consisted of news, articles, and interviews, including this one.

No comments:

Post a Comment